DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Major Championship at DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca
CS:GO’s Seventh Consecutive $250k Major Heads to Romania

August 31, 2015 – Valve today announced its next CS:GO Major Championship at DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca, featuring a $250,000 prize pool.

Taking place October 28 – November 1 at the Sala Polivalentă arena, the upcoming CS:GO tournament will follow the progress of the Legends of ESL One Cologne 2015, who will be joined by eight Challengers decided by an offline qualifier. The five-day event will be streamed live via continuous high-quality coverage provided by DreamHack and PGL, with all matches featured on the official stream.

This event will mark the seventh Major Championship for CS:GO. The previous CS:GO Major Championships have all generated record-breaking audiences, with the most recent tournament (ESL One Cologne 2015) reaching over 1.2 million concurrent viewers during the Grand Finals.

For the first time at a CS:GO Major Championship, the eight Challengers will be determined at a studio and stage event – DreamHack Open Stockholm will be restructured to act as an offline qualifier. The qualifier will run from September 22-26, with the final matches played in the Annexet Stockholm Globe Arenas in front of a live audience.

With support provided by Valve, the CS:GO Major Championship at DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca will span five days and feature in-game streaming, behind-the-scenes footage of players and Counter-Strike personalities, as well as PGL’s unique media production. The broadcast will present opening day matches from a studio environment, with all remaining matches taking place on-stage at the 10,000 seat Sala Polivalentă arena.

CS:GO fans will also have an opportunity to directly support their favorite teams by purchasing exclusive DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca stickers. At the previous CS:GO Major Championship at ESL One Cologne 2015, this crowd-funding approach generated more than $4.2 million for players and organizations.

For more information about CS:GO, please visit http://blog.counter-strike.net

For more information about DreamHack Open, visit http://open.dreamhack.se

Milestones


ESL One Cologne 2015 shattered every record, with over 1.2 million viewers tuning in on Twitch and GOTV for the Grand Final. Congrats again to Fnatic on their third CS:GO Major Championship win.

CS:GO fans had the opportunity to directly support their favorite teams and players and their response was unprecedented: thanks to crowd-funding with event stickers, the players and organizations received a total of over $4.2 million!

To celebrate the amazing event, and in honor of CS:GO’s third birthday, we’ve turned on party mode. Grab your friends, a Zeus or two, and have some fun!

Photo courtesy of Helena Kristiansson.

Fnatic Win!

Congratulations to Fnatic, who are now three-time CS:GO Majors Champions!

If you missed any of the matches or want to watch the highlights, you can download all the games from this and other tournaments in the WATCH menu.
We would like to thank all the teams, everyone at ESL One in Cologne, and the Counter-Strike community for making this tournament possible.

Photo courtesy of Helena Kristiansson.

ESL One Cologne 2015: Finals

We’re down to four teams, and soon will find out who will emerge as the ESL One Cologne 2015 CS:GO Champions! The Semi-Finals start at 11:45 am CET (5:45 am EST, 2:45am PST) with Team EnVyUs taking on Team SoloMid and returning Champions Fnatic in a match against previous Champions Virtus.pro. The Grand Finals begin at 6:45 pm CET (12:45 pm EST, 9:45 am PST).

Watch the matches on GOTV, or on twitch.tv with a linked Steam account and you’ll have a chance to receive a souvenir package commemorating the event. Win or lose, you can show support for your favorite players by purchasing their autograph and team stickers.

ESL One Cologne 2015: Quarter-Final

The championship hopes of eight teams have ended. Congratulations to the advancing teams who fill out Saturday’s Quarter-Finals bracket. Games begin at 1:45 pm CET (8:45 am EST, 5:45 am PST).

Follow the matches on GOTV or on Twitch with a linked account to be eligible for souvenir packages commemorating the event, and make sure to place your Cologne 2015 Pick’em Challenge picks before the matches begin!